Reviews



Grand Holiday - Rating 5/5

Yet again a great time spent with lovely staff, in a very comfortable room and enjoying wonderful meals. looking forward to the next time

Reviewer:Mr. John Simpson | Wed 4th Nov 2015


Lovely accomodation,did the job perfectly for us. - Rating 5/5

Lovely little pub serving wonderful food and good ales. We stayed for 2 nights in October and really enjoyed out stay. The log fire in the bar was a welcoming sight after a day out around the Dales.At meal times our little 18 month old baby boy was well catered for with a high chair and also a cot was provide in our room. A very pleasant stay overall.

Reviewer:Mr. David Steele | Tue 27th Oct 2015


Excellent, as ever! - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here several times before and were not disappointed to be here again.The rooms are very comfortable, the pub very friendly and the restaurant has a varied menu - the dinner was well presented and absolutely delicious!Excellent value for money too.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Tennant | Sat 29th Aug 2015


lovely experience - Rating 5/5

Only stayed one night but had a lovely comfortable room with a nice spacious bathroom. Both the evening meal and breakfast were exceptional, will definitely return.

Reviewer:Mrs. alison ambrose | Tue 30th Jun 2015


An absolute pleasure.- Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay. Rooms are clean. Bar area was welcoming and the owners and customers were great company. Food was amazing. Give this pub a go. Don\'t drive past. It\'s a real gem. Would stay again and would recommend without hesitation.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth Bladon | Mon 15th Jun 2015


Stay 9th june 2015 - Rating 4/5

A very nice stay with a pleasant bedroom, good food and nice atmosphere

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Rust-D\'Eye | Sat 13th Jun 2015


really lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

Really nice pub/hotel. the room (no 2) was beautiful. had everything you need and the price was good. food was fantastic,

Reviewer:Mrs. nicola makepeace | Mon 8th Jun 2015


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Really pleasant and friendly hotel. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast and fantastic choice of evening meals. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley Bradwell | Tue 26th May 2015


George and Dragon - a good place to stay - Rating 5/5

very friendly and comfortable.ideally situated for exploring the area.had an excellent evening meal!

Reviewer:Mrs. penelope gwilt | Fri 17th Apr 2015


Great food, great location - Rating 5/5

The George and Dragon is a solid pub with rooms, providing great food and clean, standard rooms at a reasonable price.We were travelling with our 7 month old, and they set up our room with a cot for him, and let us eat dinner in their snug, so that he was away from the noise of the main dining room and we didn\'t have to worry about him disturbing anyone else.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sara Morgan | Wed 8th Apr 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Chose room for walk-in shower and wi-fi. Both perfect. Superb breakfasts, even had wild mushrooms one day. Tasty food, the calves liver was excellent. Friendly staff. We will return!

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Chapman | Mon 6th Apr 2015


Superb Meals - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely two night stay in a superb walking area. The Inn is very welcoming with traditional decor and a roaring open fire. The bedroom was small but comfortable and it did have a large modern bathroom with underfloor heating. We eat here in the evening as well and the evening meals were superb - compliments to the chef. We would come again - excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Martingell | Sat 28th Mar 2015


A Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

We stayed two nights and enjoyed our time immensely. John, Collette and their team were excellent and made us very welcome;the roaring log fire helped, as well as their range of superb ales. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, and the bed was enormous. Breakfasts and dinners were both plentiful and tasty. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Les Wilde | Sat 28th Mar 2015


Comfortable and homely - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely relaxing stay. The hosts are very welcoming. The food is excellent. Will be visiting again soon

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Bell | Mon 16th Mar 2015


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was lovely. We had a lovely meal which was excellent and good value for your money. And some good local beers to try. We will hopefully visit again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosemary Stapylton | Sun 22nd Feb 2015


A real gem!! - Rating 5/5

We discovered this pub on a previous trip to Wensleydale. On returning we decided to stay for three nights. What a find! The room was comfy, clean and pleasant and the staff very friendly. But wow, the food!!! Absolutely beautiful;the highlight of our trip. Anyone who enjoys eating should visit here. Some of the best food we\'ve had in a long time :) we shall definitely return :)

Reviewer:Mrs. Amy Coxhill-Picton | Sun 22nd Feb 2015


We had a lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

We have just spent a lovely few days at the George and Dragon hotel. Lovely place, warm atmosphere, great bar and food. We will definitely return to this little gem in North Yorkshire. Thanks you for your hospitality

Reviewer:Ms. Karen Prudhoe | Tue 17th Feb 2015


Nice Break - Rating 4/5

Stayed at the George &Dragon for 1 night. The room was roomy and clean. Hosts were friendly and the food in the restaurant very good. The log fire in the bar kept the damp evening chill away.Would stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Redfern | Mon 17th Nov 2014


A real find - Rating 5/5

A very hospitable and comfortable establishment in a lovely part of the World.I couldn\'t find fault.The breakfast covers all needs and was far superior in quality to your standard full English. I was very impressed with and thoroughly enjoyed the quality of the evening meal. Good well kept beers and comprehensive wine list completes the experience

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Curry | Wed 8th Oct 2014


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay at the George &Dragon. Excellent value for money £75 b&b for 2. Excellent food and service. Room clean and comfy bed. Excellent location for the falls

Reviewer:Ms. Rachael Alexander | Sun 5th Oct 2014


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable one night stay at the George and Dragon.The room was very clean and everyone was very friendly.The evening meal was excellent, as was breakfast on Sunday morning.I would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Brearey | Mon 18th Aug 2014


Had a Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Very nice place run by very nice friendly people, room lovely in every way, food good we had an excellent evening meal and also a very good home cooked breakfast, would recommend

Reviewer:Mrs. Gillian Carter | Thu 14th Aug 2014


three night break - Rating 4/5

Food excellent,we ate at the George three nights in a row and enjoyed each meal. Breakfast very good too.Room clean and comfortable ,bath &shower good. Remember this is a very old pub and it,s charm is in Quaintness .

Reviewer:Mr. Edward Innes | Sun 27th Jul 2014


Stay in the Dales - Rating 5/5

We were made to feel very welcome from the very start of our stay at the George and Dragon.The bedroom was very clean and comfortable and well maintained.We choose to have our evening meals at the hotel and the range and presentation of the food was excellent.We would stay at this hotel again and would strongly recommend it for service, comfort, food and value for money

Reviewer:Mr. Derek Roberts | Tue 8th Jul 2014


Another visit - Rating 5/5

This was our third (maybe fourth) visit to "The George and Dragon". As ever, a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation, a lovely bar and fine food and wine at a reasonable price.We shall certainly return!

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Tennant | Mon 7th Apr 2014


Return after 25 years! - Rating 5/5

Had a night at the G &D recently, after what we reckon to be a 25 year absence! Delighted to see the bar unchanged, brought back a lot of memories with even the sketches of some old faces we remembered still there! The accommodation was superb, and we had a great meal in the restaurant in the evening - the bar is spot on, with some great beers still!Most impressive was the welcome, different owners but still the same friendly "Yorkshire"reception!Thank you, we won't leave it so long next time!

Reviewer:Mr. Martin Houldsworth| Tue 1st Apr 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 nights at the Inn. The Inn was extremely welcoming and served excellent food. The location is excellent with a very short walk across the fields to the waterfalls and other lovely walks. Excellent ale! Would stay again and recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sheila Morris | Fri 28th Mar 2014


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

Excellent customer service, clean and tidy rooms, excellent food and superb beers. A lovely short break and certain to return.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Datchler | Wed 19th Mar 2014


Short Stay - Rating 4/5

A most enjoyable stay yet again.We have stayed here previously and this visit was made even better by the fantastic weather which gave us the chance to explore the dales further afield.Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian James Scott | Sun 16th Mar 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We have just spent valentines weekend at this lovely hotel, excellent food and hospitality. Very homely and spotlessly clean we will definately be going back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kay Mawer | Sun 16th Feb 2014


Excellent family run pub. - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay with good food, excellent beers and a lovely location.Wonderful atmosphere all round excellent family run establishment.

Reviewer:Mr. Nash Nash | Mon 30th Dec 2013


Highly recommended. - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay.Very comfortable room.A lovely friendly pub and staff,a good choice on menu.Food excellent!Would recommend to friends and family!

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew George | Thu 14th Nov 2013


Home from home... - Rating 4/5

Great little family run pub - and you truly 'feel' the family facet throughout your stay.We ate there on two nights and the food was very good indeed - the far back room was a little cold - but maybe cus we ate early and it hadn't warmed up?Good choice of beer, cosyfire in the small snug/ bar.Would visit again if doing this region.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Blakeman | Tue 5th Nov 2013


Cant be beat - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome to warming place, great food and special accommodation. A place to remember and revisit as often as possible.

Reviewer:Mr. John Simpson | Sun 3rd Nov 2013


Short break - Rating 5/5

Warm and friendly greeting on arrival which continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble at any time. Facilities excellent and would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Brenda Glave | Sat 5th Oct 2013


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed here with our 2 dogs for 2 nights. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and provided excellent service. The food was exceptional, we ate here both nights and had superb breakfast in the morning. The rooms were clean and tidy. It is situated in beautiful surroundings and is close to many tourist attractions.

Reviewer:Miss. Margaret Bell | Thu 26th Sep 2013


Super find in the Dales - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights as a wedding anniversary treat. The hotel is well situated for walking if you don,t want to use your car. We had a room at the front of the hotel which was a little noisy due to number of heavy lorries that use road which runs right out side of hotel if we return would ask for room at back. We ate both nights at hotel as there are no other places within walking distance glad we did as food was fantastic on both nights if anything even better on the second night. My hubby had the lamb which he said was better than he had on a recent trip to NZ make sure you leave room for a pudding they are 2 die for. The hotel is well situated for exploring the dales we were made to feel very welcome good atmosphere in the bar as its small everyone chats to each other a super couple of days away.

Reviewer:Mr. David Jew | Thu 5th Sep 2013


One night stay Aug 2013 - Rating 4/5

Chose this place off the internet and stayed for one night.Although first impressions suggested walkers stop off point, what a lovely surprise it was!The rooms are good and the restaurant amazing, fantastic food.Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Greta Sturrs | Fri 23rd Aug 2013


Week-end stay - Rating 4/5

Warm and friendly people comfortable rooms,food was wonderful will definatley stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Cole | Wed 14th Aug 2013


Food good as ever - Rating 4/5

We stayed at the George and Dragon for the second time recently, as the first time, some 6 years ago we enjoyed our stay. The food is a particular highlight, well cooked and delicious. The fish &chips were better than I've had in so called award winning establishments, and the cooked breakfasts are wonderful, especially the sausages and bacon. The service is friendly and efficient, and I'm sure we'll be back in the future. The rooms are comfortable, although our bathroom floor could have done with a little attention as there were some cracked tiles. All in all though another great stay in a place wonderfully located for a walking couple like us.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Beecroft | Mon 12th Aug 2013


Another great stay at The George & Dragon - Rating 5/5

This is the third time we have stayed at The George &Dragon over the last 18 months and each time the welcome has been great, the food fantastic &the accomodation clean &comfortable.I would definately recommend this place to anyone, great base for exploring the beautiful Yorkshire Dales.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley Monaghan | Wed 7th Aug 2013


Hospitality - Rating 5/5

Fabulous as always!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Robert E Walton | Mon 8th Jul 2013


A real gem among rocks - Rating 5/5

What can we say first you are made to feel so comfortable that your nearly sleeping before you fill in your car registration at reception we had a doggie room better than some of these 4*Food is fantanstic and really quirky presentedThe breakfast is super same standered as evining meal Go there and trybecause we are going back as soon as

Reviewer:Mr. Denis Sherrington | Sat 22nd Jun 2013


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

Collette and Elaine very friendly. Great food, great atmosphere, Good company, 4 poster bed, triffic beer. What else could a man want. (Don't answer that !)

Reviewer:Mr. John Hill | Wed 19th Jun 2013


a few days away in June - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome and enjoyed our stay at the George and Dragon everything was perfect for a few days away. The accomodation was as we expected and more,Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Pfleger | Sun 9th Jun 2013


Excellent Dales Gourmet Pub - Rating 5/5

The George and Dragon is one of those rare establishments that combines an excellent traditional Dales pub with gourmet cooking and first class accommodation.It's a well established, family run business that we've stayed at on several occasions.Food is excellent including a hearty English breakfast.Cask conditioned ales (Black Sheep, Theakstons Best amongst others) are looked after particularly well and there's a great atmosphere in the small traditional bar. Rooms are comfortable, well equipped and tastefully decorated. The only down side is that the owner is a Leeds United fan. But nothing's perfect.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. David Burnby | Mon 13th May 2013


A lovely weekend away - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely weekend at the George and Dragon.The food was extremely good, the room comfortable and the hospitality excellent.We will certainly consider a return visit and recommend it to any friends visiting Aysgarth

Reviewer:Mrs. Jessica Daws | Thu 2nd May 2013


the George and Dragon Hotel Asygarth - Rating 4/5

Great, had a good time! Very clean and good food. Nice people.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Berridge | Fri 19th Apr 2013


a lovely stay and great food - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely three days the food was excellent and staff and owners very helpful. central to all walks and towns room was nice and clean the Lamb dish is a must.

Reviewer:Mr. James Thompson | Thu 4th Apr 2013


Did not disappoint - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit. Our hosts provide a very warm welcome and are always eager to help. The bar is well stocked with local beers and the food is imaginative and very well presented. The location is such that it is an easy walk across fields to the falls and the attractions of Wensleydale are in easy reach by car. We will certainly be back again.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Green | Fri 29th Mar 2013


G & D - Rating 5/5

Excellent service, amazing food and wonderful location. Strongly recommend for anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Jordan Raper | Thu 21st Mar 2013


An Enjoyable Weekend - Rating 5/5

The pub is family run &very friendly &helpful. The room was spacious clean &comfortable. The food was very good with a varied choice. It was our second visit &we will return!

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Howe | Mon 18th Mar 2013


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

We spent 2 nights in this delightful pub. Very cosy and warm. The food was amazing and the staff couldn't do enough. Great time!

Reviewer:Mr. James Campbell | Sun 17th Mar 2013


A special treat - Rating 5/5

We have visited Yorkhsire for many years staying at various pubs and other accommodation.This is the best ever! We stayed for 3 nights. The room was beautiful, the food fantastic from a breakfast which was so good we didn't need lunch and the evening meals were of really good restaurant quality with a great choice and all home produced, including the home made ice cream. Finally, the owners John and Collette were brilliant and really made our stay special. The walks directly from the pub were also fantastic.We will be back later this year to be spoilt again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet D\'arcy | Sat 9th Mar 2013


Thank you for a great weekend. - Rating 5/5

I would like to say a big thank you to all at the George and Dragon. We had a great weekend at this freindly family run pub.Chilled out in the bar, ate fantastic food that was way over and above your normal pub fayre in the resteraunt and slept well in our exelant room. We will be recomending the George and Dragon, I just hope we can get in the next time we're in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. David Lowdell | Wed 6th Mar 2013


friendly cosy place - Rating 4/5

stayed for one night and really enjoyed the experience,owners very friendly,room a bit small but spotlessly clean,the food was excellent and reasonably priced and finally the location was perfect will definitely go back.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Harrison | Mon 25th Feb 2013


A Quiet Country Stay - Rating 4/5

This is a pleasent pub/ restaurant in a beautiful location. It was clean and quiet when we stayed and the food was excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas Muir | Tue 19th Feb 2013


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

Spent last weekend at G&D and had a fabulous time. Accommodation, food, service &hospitality were second to none. A great place to visit and we'll be returning very soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Melanie Wilson | Mon 4th Feb 2013


Perfect break - Rating 5/5

The 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the George &Dragon. Rooms lovely and food superb. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. BarbaraGlynn | Tue 11th Dec 2012


Stay @ George and Dragon - Rating 4/5

We stayed 1 night 17.11.12 suprised by lovely room and brilliant bathroom.Amazed by food would recommend to anyone

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise Porter | Mon 19th Nov 2012


fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We found the George and Dragon a friendly place to stay it was spotless clean, and the food was fantastic.

Reviewer:Mrs. Norma Mason | Fri 16th Nov 2012


A stay with food - Rating 4/5

This was our sixth visit and once again we were treated to some of the best food Britain has to offer.Great walks from the hotel and very hospitable hosts.We will return.

Reviewer:Mr. William Jones | Thu 1st Nov 2012


Lovely weekend. - Rating 4/5

Lovely old pub in beautiful Wensleydale.Stayed two nights and ate in pub twice.Very friendly staff. Small bar but good cask ales. Evening food superb, obviously got a good chef(s). Good ensuite room, excellent breakfast. Would return.

Reviewer:Mr. John Knowles | Mon 22nd Oct 2012


Heaven on earth - Rating 5/5

Lovely Inn, with excellent food, well over the normal quality of ordinary pubfood. Two diners absolutely special and delightful. Olde Worlde pub, one of my favourites in the whole of the UK. Wonderful walking opportunities straight from the doorstep of the inn. (we walked along the various falls, to Bolton Castle, to Carperby and back to the Inn. Route available at the Inn.

Reviewer:Mr. Hans Grootendorst | Mon 22nd Oct 2012


gem in the yorkshire dales - Rating 5/5

The hotel was excellent, cannot really fault it everyone was very friendly the hotel had lots of character, the food in resturant was excellent. Everywhere was very clean and the bathroom was sparkling well done all

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Dacre | Sun 21st Oct 2012


A pleasure to be cut off by the floods - Rating 4/5

Shame about the weather and the local floods cutting off all the roads, but it didn't matter being stuck here as the G and D has everything you need. The food here is the best pub food I have had and better than a lot of restaurants. The quality of the produce as well the execution of the dishes be it breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent. The ales are well kept and tasty. The rooms are simple but clean and warm. My only negative comment would be that we had room 5 which was by the kitchen extractor, which hummed and juddered through the walls but this was off by nine at night and didn't really bother us too much in the end. The pub is very near Aysgarth falls, 10 mins walk, so good location too.

Reviewer:Mr. David Weatherill | Tue 2nd Oct 2012


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay,rooms lovely,food was gorgeous, the staff and locals where very friendly.Would stay there again.10/10

Reviewer:Miss. Gemma Mclean | Mon 1st Oct 2012


George and Dragon - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely relaxing break, the rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and it was one of the best meals we have ever had. Excellent breakfast the next morning, all cooked to order. Will be returning here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Durkan | Sun 30th Sep 2012


waterlogged - Rating 5/5

excellent as alwaysroom clean and comfortablefood - an absolute pleasure - only sorry i could not manage 3 courses every nightservice - nothing too much trouble . helpful and cheery staff

Reviewer:Mrs. SusanIsley | Thu 27th Sep 2012


Highly recommended - Rating 4/5

A very releaxed and friendly environment. Good quality wine and beers and top rating for the restaurant. For my vegetarian wife, it was heaven as choice is often bland!

Reviewer:Mr. Gary Walker | Tue 25th Sep 2012


HAPPY TRAVELLER - Rating 4/5

AS GOOD AS EVER!GOOD FOOD ,GOOD CHOICE OF BEER,AND GREAT LOCATION!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Fred Davy | Sat 11th Aug 2012


One night stand - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay at this lovely inn. Comfortable room. Superb food. Would definitely stay there again

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Birchall | Tue 7th Aug 2012


most enjoyable - Rating 5/5

spent a fabulous night in the hotel had a great meal very enjoyable. Just a pity couldn't get channel 4 as wanted to tune in for world athletics but a minor detail

Reviewer:Mr. GerardMurtagh | Sat 3rd Sep 2011